About

Role and mandate of the Observatory

As part of its dual function of observatory of the environment and sustainable development and of systemic and foresight analysis center, Plan Bleu’s mission, since its creation in 1977 (mandate renewed in Marrakech in 2009), is to provide the Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention with data, statistics and indicators to feed into assessments illustrating trends of relations between environment and development in the Mediterranean and to draw up scenarios, enabling them to take actions and support the decisional process.

Monitoring the Sustainable Development in the Mediterranean

Monitoring the Sustainable Development in the Mediterranean

The Mediterranean Strategy for Sustainable Development provides a strategic policy framework, built upon a broad consultation process, for securing a sustainable future for the Mediterranean region consistent with Sustainable Development Goals.

Action Plan on Sustainable Consumption and Production in the Mediterranean

Action Plan on Sustainable Consumption and Production in the Mediterranean

Action Plan
on Sustainable Consumption and Production in the Mediterranean

The Regional Action Plan is the first intergovernmental agreement in the Mediterranean basin to establish a regional action framework to promote the shift towards a more sustainable and circular economy, consumption patterns with lower environmental footprints, and greener production methods. It is structured around key economic sectors that are the main sources of environmental pressures on Mediterranean ecosystems.

Publications

Publications

Plan Bleu publications

This section shows the latest Plan Bleu publications related to environment and development in the Mediterranean.

Other publications of interest to the Observatory

This section offers the latest regional publications related to the observation of the environment and development in the Mediterranean.

Specific thematic maps

Specific thematic maps

This section proposes a series of thematic maps produced by Plan Bleu and others produced in the framework of specific projects by regional partner institutions.

About

Role and mandate of the Observatory

As part of its dual function of observatory of the environment and sustainable development and of systemic and foresight analysis center, Plan Bleu’s mission, since its creation in 1977 (mandate renewed in Marrakech in 2009), is to provide the Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention with data, statistics and indicators to feed into assessments illustrating trends of relations between environment and development in the Mediterranean and to draw up scenarios, enabling them to take actions and support the decisional process.

Decisions of the Conferences of the Parties

The MSSD was adopted by all Mediterranean countries at the 19th Meeting of the Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention (COP 19) (Athens, Greece, 9-12 February 2016) (Decision IG.22/2).

The Contracting Parties requested SCP/RAC and Plan Bleu to integrate the set of SCP indicators into the Mediterranean Sustainability Dashboard for monitoring the implementation of the Mediterranean Strategy for Sustainable Development 2016-2025 (MSSD). The SCP Action Plan is an integral part of the MSSD Objective 5 “Transition towards a Green and Blue Economy”, which identifies the promotion of and support to green businesses as key in the transition towards a more circular economy.

Suivre le Développement Durable en Méditerranée

La Stratégie méditerranéenne pour le développement durable fournit un cadre politique stratégique, élaboré à partir d’un vaste processus de consultation,afin de sécuriser un futur durable pour la Région Méditerranée en cohérence avec les Objectifs de développement durable.

Plan d'Action sur la Production
et Consommation Durable en Méditerranée

Le Plan d’Action est le premier accord intergouvernemental dans le bassin méditerranéen qui fixe un cadre d’action régional pour promouvoir la transition vers une économie plus durable et circulaire, des modes de consommation avec une empreinte environnementale plus faible, et des méthodes de production plus vertes. Il est structuré autour de secteurs économiques clés qui sont les principales sources de pressions environnementales sur les écosystèmes méditerranéens.

Publications

Publications du Plan Bleu

Cette section propose les dernières publications du Plan Bleu en lien avec l’observation de l’environnement et du développement en Méditerranée.

Autres publications d'intérêt pour l’Observatoire

Cette section propose les dernières publications de portée régionales en lien avec l’observation de l’environnement et du développement en Méditerranéenne.

Cartes thématiques spécifiques

Cette section propose une série de cartes thématiques réalisées par le Plan Bleu et d'autres produites dans le cadre de projets spécifiques par des institutions régionales partenaires.

A propos

Rôle et mandat de l'Observatoire

Dans le cadre de sa double fonction d’observatoire de l’environnement et du développement durable et de centre d’analyse systémique et prospective, le Plan Bleu a pour mission, depuis sa création en 1977 (mandat renouvelé à Marrakech en 2009), de fournir aux Parties contractantes à la Convention de Barcelone des données, statistiques, indicateurs pour nourrir des évaluations illustrant les tendances des relations entre environnement et développement en Méditerranée et pour élaborer des scénarios d’avenir, leur permettant d’étayer leurs actions et de soutenir le processus décisionnel.

Décisions des Conférences des Parties

La SMDD a été adoptée par tous les pays méditerranéens lors de la 19ème réunion des Parties contractantes à la Convention de Barcelone (COP 19) (Athènes, Grèce, 9-12 février 2016).

Les Parties contractantes ont demandé au SCP / RAC et au Plan Bleu de travailler à l'intégration de la liste d'indicateurs CPD dans le Tableau de bord méditerranéen de la durabilité pour suivre la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie Méditerranéenne pour le Développement Durable 2016-2025 (SMDD) (Naples, Italie, 2-5 décembre 2019, COP21). Le plan d'action CPD fait partie intégrante de l'objectif 5 de la SMDD «Transition vers une économie verte et bleue», qui identifie la promotion et le soutien aux entreprises vertes comme un élément clé de la transition vers une économie plus circulaire.